A Buddhist cop’s approach to justice


This is a beautiful story…please read and share with anyone who might benefit…

A cop meets Thich Nhat Hanh

BY | AUGUST 25, 2016

I became serious about developing a consistent mindfulness practice when I attended my first retreat with Thich Nhat Hanh (known affectionately as “Thay”), in 1991, seven years into my twenty-year police career.

I had quite a chip on my shoulder, then, built on the anger formed by my experiences, including those as a police officer. At the retreat, I had extreme doubts that Thay’s teachings could be incorporated into the life and work of a cop. And I was sure that if anyone at the retreat found out I was a cop, I would be judged.

Thay convinced me that part of the skill set of a police officer was the ability to employ both the gentle compassion of understanding and the fierce compassion of setting boundaries to protect others, including using force to intervene if people were physically harming one another. For a police officer, wisdom is being able to discern when gentle compassion is called for and when fierce compassion is called for.

“It’s often hard for us to recognize that our hearts may have stopped quivering in response to the suffering of others.”

Read the rest of this touching article here.

Leave a Reply

